Friday, April 18, 2014

The Burning Star Blog Tour ~ Guest Post & Giveaway

If you love fantasy, the paranormal, romance and twisty-turny stories featuring two young women in the fight of their lives then we have the book for you! Pick up Jessie Lane’s THE BURNING STAR, available now, and today we are happy to have the author join us for a visit! 

GUEST POST: Character Formation for The Burning Star
Now that I've written four books I've experienced the unusual range of how characters come to life. I use the word unusual because I wouldn't consider how I do anything to be considered normal. For instance, the idea for my first book, The Burning Star came to me one night after Iwent to sleep and had a crazy dream. It was such a vibrant, weird dream that I woke up, found a piece of paper and pen, and then started to write it all down.
I was literally scrambling to write it everything, such as characters and scene ideas, fast enough before I lost it all. Since I was acting like a crazy lady, my husband Michael woke up,took one look at me like I was totally nuts and went back to sleep mumbling about crazy-asswives, strait jackets and padded rooms. So character formation wise, all of the main characters in The Burning Star, hit me like a freight train. BAM! They were just there. Kay, Ryan, Nick and Kira were fully formed in all attributes and demanding that I write their story.
With that being said, I've never experienced that unique phenomena again. Each of the three books I've written after The Burning Star (Big Bad Bite, Walk On The Striped Side, and Secret Maneuvers) were rather slow in the character development. Each of them started out with a single plot idea or scene and gradually developed into characters and full story plot lines. I supposed that's one of the reasons that The Burning Star holds a special place in my heart. So far, it's been the only book to consume me so that it felt as if I couldn't physically write the book fast enough to get it out of my head.
There are other reasons the book is near and dear to my heart. Obvious reasons such as the fact that it was my first book. Other subtle reasons such as the characters themselves. There are pieces or aspects of both Kira and Kay's life or personalities that I pulled from my own life, andthat's not something I've ever admitted before. There's also the fact that I morphed Kay's physical appearance into an interpretation of how I thought my youngest daughter might look when she matured into a seventeen year old young lady.
Overall, I hope readers enjoy the characters in The Burning Star for their many different wonderful qualities. Kay's determination to keep moving forward, no matter what's thrown in her path. Kira's fighting spirit when her back is up against a metaphorical wall. Both of the girl's vulnerable qualities. I like to think that they're both characters my two daughters will be proud to say that there mom invented when they're old enough to read the story.
So now, I'm curious, what are some of your favorite character traits when you're reading a story? A tough girl, a cocky guy, or maybe a character with an artistic streak? What characteristics are your least favorite?
Thanks for hanging with me today! Remember, I love hearing from readers, so don't be afraid to drop me a note through my website! And a huge thank you to Kats Read for letting me stop by today and gab! Happy reading everyone!

The Burning Star by Jessie Lane
Re-Release Date: March 23, 2014
Original Publication: May 23, 2012
Links: Website | Goodreads | Amazon Author Page
Hosted by: Author's Taproom
*This book is a re-release and revision from the original book. Please be aware that some things have been added, deleted or changed.*

Kay’s journey of a lifetime started in the woods outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It was there that the 17 year old met a beautiful man along with a monster. The chance encounter led her to an unbelievable world that shouldn’t exist; a place where myths and fairy tales were real, and in some cases, deadly. Kay knew she would have to brave this new world if she hoped to find a cure for her terminal cancer.
With a strange yet beautiful cast of characters that she would meet along the way, Kay uncovered truths that would change her life forever. However, before it was all over, it would become clear that Kay wasn’t the only one with problems.
Yet another 17 year old young woman was fighting for her freedom and her life.Kira had lived in a magical world that Kay had only dreamt of. Despite this, her life had not been filled with many good things. As a matter of fact, she considered her empty, emotional solitude the only positive aspect of her life. She fought daily battles to escape abuse and torture.
Trained to be an expert assassin, she was charged with kidnapping Kay and delivering her to Kira’s master, Lord Donovan.
As the two young women set forth in their journeys, their paths would cross in unimaginable ways. The only question that would remain was who would come out alive and whole in the end?

WARNING: This is a upper ya/young adult/new adult fictional story that includes some explicit language, graphic violence, and mild sexual situations. Recommended for ages sixteen and up.

Crystal and Melissa often live half their lives with their heads in the clouds dreaming of alpha military hunks, werewolves and kick ass heroines crazy enough to chase after creatures that they unquestionably should know better than to chase.
Their first YA novel, The Burning Star, was released in May 2012. Big Bad Bite is their second novel, but their first adult paranormal romance. They are now working on their next two novels, Walk On The Striped Side and Secret Maneuvers. With these projects underway, they are looking forward to showing the rest of the world their crazy stories, heroes and heroines that often plague their minds until written, and hope you will join them on their journey!

Blog Tour Giveaway: (USA Only Giveaway due to shipping!)
  1. 1 Signed Paperback of The Burning Star by Jessie Lane
  2. 17 Signed Paperbacks:
  • Shelly Crane: Significance, Accordance, Defiance, Reverence, Independence
  • Helen Boswell: Mythology, Mythology Wicked
  • Quinn Loftis: Elfin, Prince of Wolves
  • Heather Hildenbrand: Dirty Blood, Cold Blood
  • Alivia Anders: Illumine
  • Carrie Butler: Strength, Courage
  • Alyssa Rose Ivy: Flight
  • Erica Stevens: Kindred, Ashes

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:
April 1:
Rather barefoot than bookless - Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 2:

April 3:
Reading Between the Wines - Author Interview

April 4:
Turn the Page – Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 6:
I Read Indie - Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 7:
Reading in Pajamas – Character Interview
Renee Entress's Blog - Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 8:
Little Read Riding Hood – Author Guest Post

April 9:
Belle's Book Bag – Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 10: 
Fictional Candy – Playlist

April 11: 
The Romanceaholic – Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 12:
Rustys Reading – Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 13:
Paulette's Papers - Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 14:
Wicked Readings by Tawania – Spotlight w/Excerpt
We Stole Your Book Boyfriend - Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 15:
RhiReading – Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 16: 

April 17:
The Book Harlots - – Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 18:
Kats Read – Author Guest Post
Confessions of 2 Book Lovers - Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 19:
Romancebookworm's Reviews – Spotlight w/Excerpt

April 20:

April 21:
A Novel Review - Dreamcast

April 22:
random jendsmit – Spotlight w/Excerpt
Twinsie Talk Book Reviews - Spotlight w/Excerpt

1 comment: